Media Contact: Nicole Farr
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE
Phoenix, AZ, (July 30, 2012) – Property and casualty insurers in Arizona encourage drivers and parents follow a new law with enhanced booster seat regulations for children. The new law will take affect August 2nd, 2012.
According to the Arizona Department of Health Services (ADHS) motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death for children between 5 and 8 years old. Many of these children were not properly restrained.
“Awareness of and practicing these new driving regulations and safety measures will reduce injuries and save lives, “says Ron Williams, executive director of the Arizona Insurance Council (AIC). “With the expanded law in place for child restraints more lives will be saved and injuries will be less severe.”
The law will require that children remain restrained in a booster seat until the age of 8 or at least 4 foot 9 inches tall. ADHS research shows that if a vehicle’s seat belt is at your child's belly rather than below the hip bones and touching the thighs, they could suffer damage to internal organs and/or a spinal injury if a crash occurs.
According to the new law, violations would be a primary offense, meaning officers do not need a secondary offense such as speeding to pull someone over if they believe a child is not properly restrained. The penalty is a minimum $50 fine.
To learn more about property and casualty insurance in Arizona visit the AIC web site at www.azinsurance.org.
The Arizona Insurance Council is a non-profit organization supported by member companies in the property-casualty insurance business.